Return to Headlines

Walnut Ridge Senior VonCameron Davis Named Ohio Mr. Basketball

March 20, 2020 -- Columbus Walnut Ridge High School senior VonCameron Davis was announced as Ohio Mr. Basketball Wednesday by a statewide media panel.

Now in its 33rd year, the prestigious award was first given by the Associated Press in 1988. It has been voted by the Ohio Prep Sportswriters Association since 2017.

The 6-foot, 5-inch, 220-pound Davis led Walnut Ridge to a 22-5 record and the school’s first Columbus City League championship since 1971. He averaged 26.2 points and 10.3 rebounds per game and shot 52.7 percent from the field. He will continue his academic and basketball career at Kent State University.

Davis and former Northland High School standout Jared Sullinger, a two-time Mr. Basketball honoree, are the only boys' basketball players to earn first-team All-Columbus City League honors all four years.

Other finalists for the award were Christopher “CJ” Anthony of Harvest Prep, Luke Powell of Barnesville, Josiah Fulcher of Lima Senior, Grant Whisman of Middletown Madison, Zach Rasile of McDonald, Malaki Branham of Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary and John Hugley of Lyndhurst Brush.

Ohio Mr. Basketball winners

2020 – VonCameron Davis, Columbus Walnut Ridge

2019 – Samari Curtis, Xenia

2018 - Dane Goodwin, Upper Arlington

2017 - Kaleb Wesson, Westerville South

2016 - Xavier Simpson, Lima Senior   

2015 - 2014 Luke Kennard, Franklin High School

2013 - Marc Loving, Toledo St. John's Jesuit  

2012 - Justin Fritts, Mentor

2011 - Trey Burke, Columbus Northland 

2010 - Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland

2009 - Jared Sullinger, Columbus Northland

2008 - William Buford, Toledo Libbey  

2007 - Jon Diebler, Upper Sandusky

2006 - O.J. Mayo, North College Hill

2005 - O.J. Mayo, North College Hill

2004 - Jamar Butler, Lima Shawnee  

2003 - LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2002 - LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2001 - LeBron James, Akron St. Vincent-St. Mary

2000 - (tie) Tony Stockman, Medina; Chester Mason, Cleveland South

1999 - Isaac Jefferson, Columbus West  

1998 - William "Sonny" Johnson, Garfield Heights  

1997 - Kenny Gregory, Independence

1996 - Jason Collier, Springfield Catholic

1995 - Damon Stringer, Cleveland Heights

1994 - Aaron Hutchins, Lima Central Catholic

1993 - Geno Ford, Cambridge

1992 - Greg Simpson, Lima Senior

1991 - Greg Simpson, Lima Senior

1990 - Bob Patton Jr., Youngstown Liberty

1989 - Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber

1988 - Jimmy Jackson, Toledo Macomber