Return to Headlines

CCS Proposes New Academic Calendars For 2020-21 School Year

June 17, 2020 -- In preparation to reopen school buildings in the fall, Columbus City Schools proposed amended academic calendars for the 2020-2021 school year on Tuesday. The Board of Education will vote on the changes to both the traditional and the year-round calendars at its meeting on June 30. 

CLICK HERE TO VIEW BOTH DRAFT DISTRICT CALENDARS

The most significant change was the starting date for students on the traditional calendar. If adopted, the start date would be moved back to Tuesday, Sept. 8, the day after Labor Day. 

Teachers would report to work on Monday, Aug. 24, for two full weeks of professional development. As the reopening of schools will look much different than in previous years due to the threat of COVID-19, the District wanted to ensure there was ample time for staff training in a number of areas, including:

  • Health and Safety Procedures,
  • Flexible Learning Environments,
  • Instructional Technology,
  • New District-Wide Curriculum Adoptions in English Language Arts and Math,
  • Social and Emotional Learning, and
  • Equity Training.

The year-round calendar, which applies to only Woodcrest Elementary School, would have students start on Wednesday, July 29, and teachers reporting to work on Monday, July 27. Woodcrest Elementary students would attend classes all online until Tuesday, Sept. 8.

Woodcrest Elementary staff would also participate in the two weeks of district-wide professional development Aug. 24 through Sept. 4, as students would be off during that time frame.

The new proposed calendars maintain the minimum number of instructional hours required under current law, even though students would be attending school five fewer days than on the original traditional calendar and six fewer on the year-round calendar.

The academic calendars for the 2021-2022 school year will remain the same as they were adopted by the Board of Education in February.

Additional details about the reopening of Columbus City Schools will be presented to the Board of Education on June 30.

Important Dates for the 2020-21 Traditional School Calendar:

  • Teachers Report: Monday, August 24, 2020
  • First Day for Students: Tuesday, September 8, 2020
  • Last Day for Students: Thursday, June 3, 2021
  • Last Day for Teachers: Friday, June 4, 2021
  • Winter Break: Monday, December 21, 2020 – Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Spring Break: Friday, April 2, 2021– Friday, April 9, 2021

Important Dates for the 2020-21 Year-Round School Calendar:

  • Teachers Report: Monday, July 27, 2020
  • First Day for Students: Wednesday, July 29, 2020
  • Last Day for Students: Thursday, June 10, 2021
  • Last Day for Teachers: Friday, June 11, 2021
  • Winter Break: Monday, December 21, 2020 – Friday, January 1, 2021
  • Spring Break: Friday, April 2, 2021– Friday, April 9, 2021
  • Intersession #1 – Monday, October 12, 2020, through Friday, October 23, 2020
  • Intersession #2 – Monday, January 4, 2021, through Friday, January 8, 2021
  • Intersession #3 – Monday, April 12, 2021, through Friday, April 23, 2021