• Superintendent's Community Facilities Task Force

Superintendent/CEO Dr. Angela Chapman's Vision for CCS

  • Scan or click the QR Code below to view the Task Force Engagement Schedule.Elevate Page QR Code

    Watch the latest updates here:

  • Board Resolution

    Superintendent's Community Facilities Task Force

    WHEREAS, Columbus City Schools policy 7100 directs the Superintendent to monitor District enrollment and building usage, capacity, and conditions; and

    WHEREAS, Columbus City School District Board Policy 7105, in determining which school or schools shall be closed, directs the Superintendent to create a task force comprised of internal and external participants to be approved by the Board of Education; and

    WHEREAS, Columbus Board of Education also wishes to maximize the efficiency of the Administrative and Support buildings in the District; and

    NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED: That the Columbus Board of Education approves the following recommended names from the Superintendent to serve on the Facilities Task Force:

    Board Policy 7105

  • Community Facilities Task Force Members

    Al Edmondson, Co-Chair
    Jim Negron, Co-Chair

  • Lois Carson, President – Columbus School Employees Association (CSEA), State President – Ohio Association of Public School Employees

    Olivia Doggett, CCS Parent, CCS Family Ambassador

    Al Edmondson, President – Making a Difference, Inc

    Yaves Ellis, Pastor - New Birth Christian Ministries

    John Gregory, Founder and CEO – National Center for Urban Solutions and Representative for the Equity Now Coalition

    Rev. Dr. Kevin Hairston, Pastor – Living Word Bible Fellowship Church

    John Kellogg, Superintendent in Residence, Columbus State Community College/Education Service Center of Central Ohio

    Rev. Dr. John Little, Pastor – Resurrection Missionary Baptist Church, President – Baptist Pastors Conference

    Amanuel Merdassa, Director of Youth Services – Ethiopian Tewahedo Social Services

    Jim Negron, President – CK Construction, Board of Trustees – Greater Columbus Arts Council, Board Member – Workforce Development Board of Central Ohio, Board Member – Columbus Urban League, Board of Directors – Jazz Arts Group, Board of Directors – Catholic Social Services

  • Bertha Obayuwana, CCS Parent, CCS Family Ambassador

    Rev. Kevin Orr, Pastor – Glenwood United Methodist Church

    Johnny Pitts, Owner – Pitts Insurance Agency

    Chris Potts, Director of Facility Planning, The Ohio State University (Planning, Architecture & Real Estate)

    Aslyne Rodriguez, Director of Regional Strategic Partnerships – Central Ohio Transit Authority (COTA)

    Kimberly Rodriguez, President – Columbus Administrators Association

    Gina Shimer, CCS Parent, CCS Family Ambassador

    Matthew Smydo, Executive Director for the Office of Education - City of Columbus Mayor Andrew J. Ginther

    Richard Studer, Project Coordinator – Rotary Club of Columbus

    John Tannous, Senior Policy Advisor – Columbus City Council

    David Wellborn, President – Safety & Security Local #581

    Kenneth Wilson, Franklin County Administrator – Franklin County Board of Commissioners

  • Charge for the Community Facilities Task Force

    • Issue a report by the beginning of June 2024 that specifies whether or not school and administrative buildings in the District should be closed/consolidated.
    • If there are specific schools and administrative buildings in the District that the Task Force identifies for closure, the report should list those schools and administrative buildings as a recommendation from the Task Force.
    • Each recommendation must have a statement of rationale.
    • The determination of which schools in the District are candidates for closure must be based on the overall balance and objectivity of the 14 factors listed in Board Policy 7105.
    • In making the decision on whether or not to close schools, the Task Force must also determine the facts that should be used to make a determination to close administrative buildings. This decision is required because Board Policy 7105 is focused on schools. 
    • The relocation of staff is a factor that the Task Force must address for the closing of administrative buildings as well.
    • Both draft and final reports will be made available to students, parents, and the community via our web page for public feedback prior to the Board's final vote.

    Timeline for the Task Force Graphic

Meeting Date(s):

    • Tuesday, February 13 | Location: 270 E. State St | Time: 5:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, February 27 | Location: Mifflin High School| Time: 5:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, March 12 | Location: Hilltop Library | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, March 26 | Location: Northern Lights Library | Time: 1:00 p.m.
    • Tuesday, April 16 | Location: 3700 S. High Street | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    • Wednesday, April 24 | Location: 270 E. State Street | Time: 12:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, April 30 | Location: Linden Recreation Center | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, May 14 | Location: Marion Franklin High School | Time: 5:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, May 28 | Location: Columbus Metro. Library - Whetstone Branch | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, June 11 | Location: Columbus Metro. Library - Main Branch | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    • Tuesday, June 25 | Location: East High School | Time: 1:30 p.m.
    Comments (-1)