Board Member Jennifer Adair

  • Jennifer AdairElected: November 2019
    Term Began: January 2020
    Term Expires: December 31, 2027

    Jennifer Anne Adair is in her second term as an honored member of the Columbus Board of Education. She previously served as Board President from January 2020 until January 2024. She is a proud graduate of Columbus City Schools Centennial High School (1998), Northwestern University (B.A., 2002), and Capital University Law School (J.D., 2005). Jen resides in the Columbus neighborhood of North Linden with her children and many pets.  

    Professionally, Jen has expertise in government policy, law, and human resources. She is an attorney and Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) Consultant. She recently served as the State's Director of DEI and Equal Employment Opportunity Coordinator.

    Jen has served her community in many capacities, including Past-Chair of the North Linden Area Commission; President of the John Mercer Langston Bar Association; Board Member of the Neighborhood Design Center; Member of the Columbus Bar Association’s Board of Governors; Fellow of the Young American Leaders Program at Harvard Business School; Fellow of the African American Leadership Academy; President of the Northwest Civic Association; and Commissioner for the City of Columbus Recreation and Parks Department.

    She is honored to have received several awards for her public service, including the Capital Law School Dean’s Service Award (2005); Capital Law School Public Service Award (2005); Capital Law School’s Outstanding Service Award for an Alumni (2007); the Ohio State Bar Foundation's Community Service Award for Attorneys 40 and Under (2010); the Northwest Civic Association’s Anna Mildred Henderson Award for Community Service (2011); John Mercer Langston Bar Association’s Emerging Leader Award (2012); the Capital University Law School, Black Law Student Association’s Martin Luther King, Jr., Image Award (2013); the David D. White Award, African-American Law Alumni of Capital University Law School (2020); and the Ohio State School Board Association’s Service Award (2022).

    Phone: 614-365-5790


    * All biographic information has been provided by the individual Board members.